Marquee Figure

The Biggest Little Town in Texas!

Municipal Court

Got a Ticket?

 Pay the fine and court costs

A plea of guilty or no contest is required. This finalizes the case and no pre-trial or court appearance is needed. A conviction may appear on your driving record.

Complete a driver safety course

You may request this in person or by mail. You will need a valid Texas driver’s license and proof of financial responsibility with your name on it. You may not take DSC if you hold a CDL, going 25 mph over the speed limit, passing a school bus when loading or unloading children, in a work zone with workers present, leaving a scene of an accident after causing serious damage and leaving a scene of an accident without stopping to render aid and giving information.

Payment of court costs plus a $10 non-refundable fee is required upon requesting the driver safety course.

Request deferred disposition

A plea of guilty or no contest is required. The Court may, in its sole discretion, defer disposition of your case. This procedure involves your payment of a special expense fee. The court will defer a finding of guilt or no contest, assess the applicable court cost and order you to comply with certain conditions. You may request this in person or by mail.

If you successfully comply with the terms, your case will be dismissed. Normally, the only condition imposed by the court will be that you receive no additional citations for a period of 90 to 180 days.

Payment must be made in full by the end of the Deferred Disposition.  (You may make Payments until its paid in full)

Contest the charge

If you wish to plead not guilty and wish to contest your charge you will be set on a pretrial docket. This will need to  be done in person or by mail, before your appearance date on the citation. If this is done in person you will be given a court date at the window. If you mail in your request you must send in a self addressed stamped envelope along with the Plea Form and the Not Guilty plea signed, then we will mail you the court date back.
  • All juveniles (under the age of 17) must be seen by the judge. A court date will be mailed to the address on the citation.
  • Failure to pay fines will result in a warrant.

Italy Municipal Court Reply Form

Plea Form finalized (4)

Italy Municipal Court Reply Form (Spanish Version)

Plea Form New-ESPANOL (2)

Hours of Operation
8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Monday – Friday

161 West Main Street
P.O. Box 840
Italy, TX 76651

Phone: (972) 483-7329 – ext. 106
Fax: (833) 311-1634

Translate »